Skipping the small stuff

In my “Bad tanks hurt my soul” post, I said my wife and I would be pugging regular Halls of Lightning to see how I would stack up against the horrible Protection Pally my DK ran with.

Well, plans change.  I essentially skipped all the level 80 instances and jumped right into Heroic Utgarde Keep.   Here are my thoughts…

As someone who only tanked the easiest BC Heroic and only did that twice, Heroics of any difficulty are an adjustment for me.  I’m not used to having to do things like use Demoralizing Shout just to survive and Thunderclapping even when it’s just one mob to slow his attacks down.

Thus far, those skills have been aoe aggro builders for me, not survival abilities.  We pulled the first 2 mobs fine.  All of us were alive, they were dead at the end of the fight.

The second pull we pulled 3.  I wasn’t using my survivability skills and my wife waited too long to start healing.  End result: wipe.

That’s the bad news.  The good news is, we figured out what we needed to do and did it.  The only wipes after this point were 1. when the ret pally tried to pull with repentence and got smashed immediately and 2. on the first boss when we tried to do it without breaking the ice blocks.

The other two bosses dropped like nobody’s business.

I got a tanking sword and an epic crossbow for my dps set.

Overall, it was a good night.  After the upgrade, some gemming, and a leg enchant I’ve gotten myself to 25k HP, 22k Ar, 549 Def, 18% dodge, 16% parry, 16% block.

Next up, probably Nexus.

Leave a Reply

