3.1 and My 2 Specs

First things first….YAY!  I am so excited about 3.1.  Other than expansion patches, this patch has been the most exciting for me so far, and it’s easy to see why.

  • Dual-Specs!  This is the grandaddy of all the patch information for me.
  • Ulduar!  This is the first time I’ve ever been raiding when a patch came out, so I’m excited.
  • The Argent Tournament!  Two words…White Hippogryph!  It’s actually called the Argent Hippogryph, but it’s SWEET!
  • That’s enough right there, but let’s throw the Arms changes in for fun!

I logged on at 9:00 p.m. last night as soon as I could and the first thing I did was buy dual-spec.  Unfortunately, the Armory seems to be malfunctioning, so I can’t link my armory to show my specs, but I can link them on a talent calculator.

For my primary spec, I stuck with Protection.  I’m good at it, and my guild needs me.  I did change my spec a little since I had a free respec.  We are going into Ulduar, unknown content.  That means I should be concentrating on survivability.  I went with a (5/8/58) spec with has a LOT of survivability options from the Protection tree.  Things I don’t always take, but did this time were Improved Spell Reflect, 5/5 Shield Specialization and Improved Disciplines.

For my secondary spec, I’m thrilled to say I went Arms.  I tried to concentrate on PVE dps, but I did take a few talents that are kind of PVP specific.  HOWEVER, they were in the bottom two tiers of the Arms tree, where pickings are slim in my opinion anyway.  I went with a (56/15/0) spec.

My hardest decision was taking Sword Spec.  I currently have the Titansteel Destroyer AND the Sword of Justice.  Typically you would think the epic Destroyer would beat out the blue Sword of Justice, but I’m not so sure.  The Sword is slower, which is good for Arms and the weapon damage is higher, which is good for Arms.  I lose some Strength and therefore Attack Power by not using the Destroyer, but I gain a ton of Crit.  It was a tough decision, and I hope I chose the correct one.

So there you have it.  A quickie post on what I did last night with my very limited playtime due to the maintenance going FOREVER.

Leave a Reply

