Two Steps Forward, One Step Back

Horrible Paula Abdul reference aside, that’s what happened to my raid group last night.  Last week we got Flame Leviathan on our second attempt, Razorscale on our third (or fourth, can’t remember) attempt and XT-002 Deconstructor after a few attempts.  I can’t even get a ballpark on that one, more than five and less than ten probably.

Last night, we took two steps forward.  We one-shot Flame Leviathan and Razorscale.  I was extremely happy with the way the evening was going, then we took a giant leap backwards on XT-002.

We had people blowing up in the middle of the group, we had an off-tank that was getting rofflestomped by adds, and unfortunately, we had a Main Tank who probably could have prevented the wipe.

While it’s rarely one person’s fault a group wipes, I do believe in personal accountability.  We had XT-002 at 1%.  38,000 hit points.  I had hit EVERY cooldown I had in attempt to eek out a few more seconds.  Shield Wall, Shield Block, Enraged Regeneration, Last Stand, Stoneskin, Trinkets and a Runic Healing Potion.  Every cooldown that is, except one.  I forgot about my Indestructible Potion.  Would it have prevented the wipe?  I honestly don’t know, but I’m not too happy about not having used it.

The Dinner Goat Raiding Crew will be charging back into Ulduar tonight.  Tonight we WILL drop XT-002.  We may wipe.  When we do wipe, know this.  I will have done EVERYTHING in my power to prevent that wipe.  Including using that Indestructible Potion.

I also learned last night that the ego is a powerful thing.  Just because you CAN do something, doesn’t mean you SHOULD.  I could go into a newer guild’s Naxxramas progression raid and tank as Arms rather than Protection.  There is nothing preventing me from attempting to do that.  I SHOULDN’T do that, because it would cause unnecessary wipes.

Just because I have tanked a higher level of content than what I’m running doesn’t mean I should be a jerk and cause wipes by not being serious about it.

Tomorrow:  News of our downing of Kologarn.

3 Responses to “Two Steps Forward, One Step Back”

  1. That is a terrible feeling…

    I have wiped on tough fights (Sapph comes to mind), with just a few thousand HP left on the boss. I start going over my rotations, or my CD just to find out I forgot to hit Rapid Fire or something like that. It bites. But it is part of learning. Not that that makes it any better.

    Good luck tonight!

  2. For what it’s worth – you downed a Runic Healing Potion, as you stated. This would’ve prevented you from downing an Indestructible Potion – the potion countdown doesn’t end until you leave combat.

    Not much more you could’ve done. 😐

  3. That’s an excellent point. I forget sometimes that they can’t be used together anymore, especially with heal doing one thing and the indestructible doing something completely different. It just seems to me that they should be on different timers.

Leave a Reply

