Randul & Kered…NERFED!

Anyone who reads this blog regularly will undoubtedly know that I am a huge proponent of the dual-spec system.  The dual-spec system allowed me, on my Warrior Randul, to have a tanking spec (Prot) and a pvp/daily spec (Arms).  It also allowed me, on my Death Knight Kered, to have a tanking spec (Unholy) and a DPS spec (Blood).

The good news:  I can perform the roles of tank and dps/pvp on my Warrior and the roles of tank and dps on my Death Knight.

The bad news:  Half of the roles I play on both of my level 80 characters have been nerfed.  Nerfed pretty hard in my opinion.

According to a post on wow.com (formerly WowInsider) the following nerfs will take effect as of the next patch:

Warrior

  • Juggernaut: This talent now also increases the cooldown on Charge by 5 seconds.

Death Knight

  • Frost Presence: Armor bonus is now 60% down from 80%.

What does this mean?  It means Randul the Dwarf will have many more opportunities to be kited by pretty much anyone who can kite.  Not only was the critical strike bonus of Mortal Strike and Slam reduced on Juggernaut in the last patch, but now they are increasing the cooldown of Charge.

How about Kered the Death Knight?  Essentially the only way I’m able to raid (as Tank) is being nerfed pretty hard.  A 20% reduction in the armor bonus in Frost Presence is nothing to sneeze at.

Does this kill my characters?  Nope, not really.  My main spec on Randul is Protection and my preferred spec on Kered is DPS.  Does it hurt my playstyle?  Yes.  I do enjoy pvp, and this is going to make it that much harder to PVP on Randul.  As for Kered, while I prefer to DPS on him, our guild’s lack of tanks forces me to spec as a tank in raids on any character I take.  I sure hope he can still hold his own with a 20% reduction in his armor bonus.

Leave a Reply

