Mount Changes

Zarhym, a blue poster on the Official Forums recently made a post about upcoming mount changes.

What it says:

In the next major content patch, we intend to adjust mount requirements to further improve the leveling experience in World of Warcraft. In addition, cast times for summoning all mounts will be reduced to 1.5 seconds, down from 3 seconds. The following is a breakdown of the upcoming cost and level requirement changes we are making for each riding skill.

  • Apprentice Riding (Skill 75)
    • 60% land mount speed
    • Requires level 20
    • Cost: 4 gold
    • Mount cost: 1 gold
    • Mail will be sent to players at level 20 guiding them to the riding trainer
  • Journeyman Riding (Skill 150)
    • 100% land mount speed
    • Requires level 40
    • Cost: 50 gold
    • Mount cost: 10 gold
    • Mail will be sent to players at level 40 guiding them back to the riding trainer
  • Expert Riding (Skill 225)
    • 150% flying mount speed; 60% land mount speed
    • Requires level 60
    • Cost: 600 gold (faction discounts now apply)
    • Mount Cost: 50 gold
    • Can now be learned in Honor Hold (Alliance) or Thrallmar (Horde)
  • Artisan Riding (Skill 300)
    • 280% flying mount speed; 100% land mount speed
    • Requires level 70
    • Cost: 5,000 gold (faction discounts now apply)
  • Mount Cost: 100 gold
  • What do I think about this?  I’m not sure.  It’s not like it was THAT hard to get to 30 to get your mount.  I’ve kind of thought they should lower the epic mounts to 55 to match the DKs, but I never imagined they would lower it to 40.

    This is certainly going to make leveling my shaman a little easier, not to mention give me a lot more incentive to go from 33 – 40 on him.

    I definitely agree with giving flying mounts at 60, especially with the other changes they are making.  I love the speed increase on the non-epic flyers.  I never understood why they were slower than an epic ground mount.

    Overall, I think this will be a good thing.  It will help people who want to level alts and it will help new players who want to get to end game to be with their friends. The days of slogging through slow content were already over, now they have been officially buried.


    4 Responses to “Mount Changes”

    1. WTF?!?!! I just recently started buying all these mounts for ridiculous amounts of gold? Argh.

      Seriously though, I think this is going to greatly open up the leveling experience. It sucks that we had to work so hard on our mains (I remember getting my first mount on my main at 39 3/4, the day the nerf came out). But it will make it soo much easier and faster to level now.

      I also understand that Cold weather flying will still be available at 77.

    2. Yeah, I bought a level 40 mount the day before they announced the change to level 30 for riding mounts. I wasn’t too happy, but I was still cool with it. It gives me incentive to level the multitude of alts I have.

    3. I am generally in favor of this. As it is now, flying isn’t worth purchasing at ALL until level 77. My most recent alts are in their low 70s with no flying because it was pointless. It still will be for them, but the next ones will get some use in Outlands.

    4. I’m pretty much where you are Troutwort, my characters are 80, 80, 71 & 70. I do have a level 33 which I spoke about in the post, but it’ll be a while before I have to worry about him flying.

      As I said in the post though, this might be just the incentive I need to get a move on my first heal-capable character.

    Leave a Reply

