Progress Smells Like Burning Flesh

It smells like my burning flesh to be exact.  Well, Randul’s burning flesh, but he’s an extension of me!  Once again, the Dinner Goat crew only got two shots at Ulduar this week, Friday and Sunday.

Friday

On Friday, we started out a little weak.  We wiped on Flame Leviathan.  After we got the jitters out of our system by downing FL, we one-shot Razorscale, XT-002, Kologarn and Auriaya.  I finally picked up the Flamewatch Armguards off of Flame Leviathan, which made me a happy dwarf.

After we finished up with Auriaya, we didn’t have much time for Hodir, so we decided to go get a look at the Iron Council.  We wiped hard on the first few attempts, but soon realized the trick.  Steelbreaker‘s Fusion Punch puts a debuff on the target that makes them take a TON of damage.  As we realized this little tidbit, we called it for the night since we were over on time.

Saturday

On Saturday, quite a few of our raiders couldn’t make it, so some of us decided to throw a 25-man Naxx pug together.  The wife needed Spider & Plague Quarters to get her achievement, so we asked to start there.  On the first boss of the day, Anub’Rekhan dropped Pauldrons of Unnatural Death, which I snagged immediately.  I’m losing my two-piece set bonus from my t7 gear, but I think overall these are an upgrade.

We downed Faerlina, Maexxna and Noth before I had to head out to go to a work event.  The wife got Heigan down which was all she needed for her achievement.  I’m not sure how much longer she made it after that.  Apparently most of the puggers were complaining loudly about the pace of the raid.  She doesn’t like whiners, so she probably bolted immediately.

Sunday

On Sunday, we ventured back into Ulduar and went after the Iron Council again.  This time, the Raid Leader put me on lightning guy so I could interupt and stun his abilities.  We had a cat druid go bear to tank the Rune Guy and our Paladin tank on Steelbreaker so he could cleanse himself of the Fusion Punch debuff.  It worked out well, but the healing assignments were a little screwy at first, with a Disc Priest on me, a Disc Priest on the Pally and a Resto Shaman on the bear.

We decided that I wasn’t taking nearly enough damage to warrant a Disc Priest, so the shammy came to work on me while the wife went to heal the bear.  After that, things went smoothly and we made all three of them fall down.

Now we had a decision to make.  Hodir or Ignis.  Either fight would be progression, even if Ignis would be optional progression.  We decided we wanted to take a stab at Ignis.  This is where the burning flesh from the title comes into play.

Ignis sucked.  I have to admit, I was completely frustrated trying to deal with his adds.  I felt worse after every attempt.  I felt like I was completely failing at the task I’d been assigned and completely failing the raid.  The biggest hurdle for me was the aggro reset after they became molten.  We had more than a few attempts that ended before 60%.

Demoralized, we came back in for our final attempt.  The kitty druid was making an attempt at helping me corral the adds.  On what was called as our final attempt of the night, I found my groove.  I was doing so well, in fact, that halfway through the fight the bear decided I didn’t need his help anymore and just started dpsing.  I had finally figured it out.  As a result of me doing my job, we downed Ignis.

ignisdown

And there you have it, the end of Ignis the Funace Master.  At least for this week.  As a side note, he dropped what could quite possibly be the oddest piece of gear I’ve seen.  Gauntlets of the Iron Furnace…Armor Penetration…on tank gear.  What the…?

Anyway, this weekend I got lots of achievements, but the ones I’m most proud of were clearing the Siege of Ulduar and the Antechamber of Ulduar.  We are about halfway through the raid, and we are coming for you, Hodir!

4 Responses to “Progress Smells Like Burning Flesh”

  1. Well congratulations. Nothing feels better than finally downing a boss after a few wipes…

  2. I’m not a kitty dps that goes bear. I’m a bear tank, that dps’ when we have both mains there. Sucka!

  3. @Scott If you are putting out that much dps with a tanking spec, druids are OP. That is all.

  4. Dual spec feral/feral. However they did nerf cat deeps, so I’m back to feral/boom.

Leave a Reply

