Dual Wield Frost…Two Thumbs Up!

I said I would try out DW Frost this weekend, and I didn’t lie.  I dusted off the old Death Knight who had, in all honesty, fallen into a state of disrepair.  Oh sure, I dusted him off for some alt-Naxx runs every now and then, but I just didn’t play him except to Arena with the wife.  (and I haven’t done that in 2 or 3 weeks)

So I open up his talent pane and say to myself, “Self…what are we gonna do here?”  I started with his pvp spec.  2-Handed Unholy.  Unfortunately for me, I made a real mess of the thing.  I need to go in and respec this weekend, because it’s not even close to good.  I intend to do this (0/17/54).

Then I opened up my Frost talents to do his second spec.  So I took all the good DW Frost talents and then went into the Unholy tree to go get Blood Caked Blade.  I ended up with this spec.  (0/53/18)

Alright!  I’ve got my spec, I’m ready to roll!  So I head up that place where the Sons of Hodir hang out.  Wait.  I don’t have any 1-handed weapons!  Nooo!  I check the Sons of Hodir quartermaster and sure enough, he has an axe.  I didn’t buy it though.  60 gold was a lot of money for poor Kered.

I checked wowhead and found the Reaper of Dark Souls, sold by the Knights of the Ebon Blade quartermaster.  15 gold!  Alright, a steal!  So I fly over there and go to buy it…60 gold.  Apparently I was looking at the wrong thing on wowhead.

I gave up at this point and switched to Randul to send myself some money.  2 Reapers of Dark Souls later and I’m in business.  I do some Argent Tournament quests and lo and behold…Frost is fun!

I’m a fan of reactive abilities.  I enjoy the way Arms plays on Randul with Overpower & Execute being things that I have to be paying attention to.  DW Frost is similar with abilities like Rime and Killing Machine.  Except Frost is even more fun, cause I can use the abilities anytime, they are just better with those abilities proc!

Good times!  So far, I have to say DW Frost is fun and interesting.  I’m looking forward to the change of pace and seeing what I can do with it.  My next goal on Kered is to make myself a Titansteel Bonecrusher and get another epic 1-hander to replace those blue swords.

Leave a Reply

