Marrowstrike Versus Edge of Ruin

or…I passed on the better weapon

A couple posts ago I posted a comparison between Ironsoul, the 2-handed Mace out of Ulduar and Edge of Ruin, the 2-handed Axe out of Heroic Trial of the Champion.

Okay, so I missed a tiny little fact.  Marrowstrike drops from the same instance.  Marrowstrike is a Polearm with Agility, Stamina, Attack Power, Crit and Armor Penetration.

Let’s be specific, shall we?

Edge of Ruin (iLevel 219)  212.3 DPS, 3.5 Speed, 594 – 892 Damage

121 Strength, 97 Stamina, 76 Armor Penetration and 62 Critical Strike Rating.

Marrowstrike (iLevel 219) 212.3 DPS, 3.5 Speed, 594 – 892 Damage

106 Agility, 101 Stamina, 154 Attack Power, 60 Armor Penetration and 57 Critical Strike Rating.

Oh, Marrowstrike also has a yellow socket with a +4 Agility socket bonus.

Which is better?

According to Landsoul’s Warrior DPS Spreadsheet, which can be found at elitistjerks.com, Marrowstrike is better for both Arms and Fury!  (I’m a newb, you can’t DW polearms as Fury)

At least, at my level of gear, which is a mix of Naxx10 & Ulduar10.

For Arms, Marrowstrike offers a 23 point DPS increase and for Fury, Marrowstrike offers a 21 point DPS increase over Edge of Ruin.  In both of the simulations I used a +16 Strength gem in Marrowstrike.  Without the gem, Marrowstrike offers a 6 point DPS increasne for arms and a 3 point DPS loss for Fury.

This is in a buffed environment, with Kings.  It’s about the same with no buffs.

So what do we make of this?

First, I passed on a better weapon than Edge of Ruin, because I was blinded by Edge’s Strength.  In my defense, I was in a pug and specifically asked to be allowed to roll (I was tanking) on Edge at the beginning, but I didn’t mention Marrowstrike.  Why?  Because, quite honestly, I had forgotten about it.  I think I knew, somewhere in the abyss that is my brain that it existed, but I put it out of my head because it was a “Hunter weapon”.

Secondly, yes…this is a Hunter weapon.  If you steal it from a Hunter, they are going to be cranky.  Who is right?  You are.  (If you are a warrior, and you should be)  A melee weapon should always go to the melee class before the ranged class.  That doesn’t mean the Hunters aren’t going to cry foul.

Lastly, keep an open mind.  Strength does not always mean better, as is the case with Marrowstrike.

Oh, just a little warning.  Edge of Ruin, which I haven’t seen yet, drops off of the first boss.  Marrowstrike, which I have, drops off of the Priestess second boss.  Technically, you should have a 50% less chance of seeing Marrowstrike drop than Edge, since you could get the Paladin as the second boss instead of the Priestess.

What this all boils down to is this, if you are toting around the Titansteel Destroyer, grab whichever of these drops first.  If you want to continue gunning for the other, knock yourself out.

5 Responses to “Marrowstrike Versus Edge of Ruin”

  1. I find it stunning that Landsoul’s spreadsheet has Marrowstrike higher than Edge of Ruin. It has inferior stats in every category except stam (obviously not DPS oriented) and AGI. The AGI I guess is what does it, because the other 3 stats are lower. WITH Marrowstrike, you lose:

    88 Attack Power (48 if it’s socketed with a +20STR gem)
    16 Armor Penetration
    5 Critical Strike Rating

    Is that really made up for by 106 Agility? I find that hard to believe. Oh well, being fury I don’t have to worry about that, and being an Orc, the axe is still better because of my 5 expertise racial. Easy decision for me even if I was arms :p

  2. It took me by surprise as well. I can tell you how I tweaked the spreadsheet which hasn’t updated for 3.2 yet to get the numbers.

    I took my current gear, which I pulled from the Armory.

    I plugged in Stormedge to get the Poleaxe spec.

    After that, I just edited the stats to fit Edge and Marrowstrike respectively and my numbers for Marrowstrike were 4,195 DPS and my numbers for Edge were 4,167 dps.

    If you look at the SEP numbers, STR is worth 1, Agil is worth .7168, ArP is worth .9248, Crit Rating is worth .8674 and 2 AP is worth .8741 for me.

    If you add up the numbers for each weapon.

    Marrowstrike gets a score of 247 while Edge gets a score of 245. When you consider the fact that Marrowstrike has an additional stat in Agility, it starts making sense.

    Yes, STR is that good, but when you throw on another dps stat altogether it makes things murkier.

    As my crit goes up with gear, Edge could turn out to be a better choice. I’ll just have to wait and see.

  3. Randul’s edit: I’m retarded and like to curse. But Marrowstrike ftw!

  4. […] to see that people are STILL debating which is better…Edge of Ruin or Marrowstrike.  While that debate was interesting in it’s time, it is no longer relevant and I’m going to answer the […]

  5. Thanks I found just dha info I already searched everywhere and just couldnt find. What a really good website. Like this website this site is one of my favs.
    If you want to exchange links let me know.

Leave a Reply

