To Blizzard: Give Us a Reason

To anyone out there who reads this and agrees, please do your part.  Link this post wherever you can, get the word out that this post is here.  I’m fairly certain no one from Blizzard reads my blog, but I think it’s important that this gets to them.  You might want to Buff this page by clicking here and then clicking the Buff’d icon.

Dear Blizzard,

I am very excited to see your plans for the upcoming expansion, World of Warcraft: Cataclysm.  I think the changes in the old worlds and the storylines that will come forth will be amazing.  I truly believe this will revitalize the game and we will not only see old players return but new players give the game a try.

I do have a concern I would like to address.  Please give us a reason to go to these raids you are planning for Cataclysm.  By reason, I mean more than “phat lewtz”.

Whoever does the quests for the 5-man instances does a wonderful job.  I love how I can quest in a zone and the culmination of those quests will lead me into a 5-man dungeon.  It gives me a reason to go there.  While the Howling Fjord lead-up quests were a little lacking (Go talk to this guy.  Okay now go into the instance), the Stormpeaks quests to go after Loken were amazing.  I really felt like I was a part of a big story and I was excited about going into Halls of Lightning.

Now we look at raids.  Where are the quests?

Sure there are some low-level quests talking about Naxxramas in Dragonblight, but do we just hit 80 and decide we are now powerful enough to go there?

No quests at all, or any explanation really, for going into Obisidian Sanctum.  I know there is some out-of-game stuff about OS, but shouldn’t that be in the game?

Malygos has a quest, but to be honest it isn’t exactly epic.  Why does Sapphiron have the key to the Eye of Eternity?  No storyline is given to explain it’s presence.

Lastly we have Ulduar.  Sure, we got a neat little machinima for Ulduar, but I want in-game quests.  In-game story!  I’m not a role player per se, but I like to think about my character living the game.  I, as the player, saw the video.  I, as the player, know what’s going on.  My character has no clue.  Apparently he and his raid just decided to wander into Ulduar one day.

I haven’t been into Trial of the Crusader, so I can’t say with 100% certainty that there are no quests to go in there.  I can say, however, that I haven’t seen them.  Another video, but no in-game story.

We have Icecrown and Cataclysm on the horizon.  This is your opportunity, Blizzard, to wow the players of your game.  Just give our characters some reason to go.  The players have plenty of shiny purple reasons to go, but our characters should feel compelled to go after these raids.

Take a look at how it’s done in Stormpeaks.  Take a look at how it’s done in Hellfire Peninsula and Zangarmarsh.  Even Black temple has some epic questlines running up to it.  Freeing Teron Gorefiend and having Illidan yell at me when I got his tabard was amazing.  It made me feel heroic.  It made me feel epic.

I am in the minority.  I understand that fact.  Most players just want to run in and start getting loot and that’s fine.  But please Blizzard, cater to the people who really want to get into your game.

I obviously don’t have details on your raids, or I would write questlines and submit them to you.  You have very talented people to take care of that though, it’s just a matter of implimenting it.

Sincerely,

Randul the Dwarf, lover of Lore, story and plot.

4 Responses to “To Blizzard: Give Us a Reason”

  1. I agree. This is why I was really against them removing attunements from raids… they were more than just a hurdle to get into the intance door, they were lore-heavy storylines that made sure you knew why you had to go kill this or that bad guy.

    I hope they bring something like that back… attunements don’t have to be long and arduous, they can be quite simple while still providing some motivation for raiding (other than just gear)!

  2. I completely agree as well. This ties in well with a blog post I did last month. I wrote about gaining rep in raids again and how it felt like you were working towards a greater cause. It’s the same thing, even more so, with leading quests and attunements. Future attunements don’t even have to be hard! Blizz just needs to give us something more storywise. I don’t like going into a raid just for some purples. I want to feel like there’s a reason for me being there.

  3. I don’t know why it’s not giving the link back to my blog.

    gurlirl.wordpress.com

  4. Agreed. They don’t have to bring back attunements, just leave the questlines optional. Lore lovers like us can then do them to have that reason, whereas those only after the raids themselves can just go in – everyone’s content with them.

    While the attunements per say, are gone, the questlines for them are awesome, bring them back 🙂

Leave a Reply

