Death Knight Tanking in Cataclysm

A bit of a depature from the norm today, rather than talk about the normal Warrior stuff, I’m going to talk a little about Death Knights.

My primary alt, who is quickly becoming more of a secondary main is Kered, a Death Knight.  He is dual-specced, DW Frost and Unholy Tank.  After reading an article over at wow.com entitled Lichborne: What Cataclysm might mean for Death Knights, I decided to throw my opinion into the ring.

The author talks about each of the upcoming changes individually, but the one I really want to talk about is his take on Defense going the way of the dodo.  The devs stated that tanks will receive their crit reduction in the way of talents, much like Bear Druids do.  He has a problem with what this could mean for DKs, in that it could mean DKs have to pick one talent tree for tanking.

My question is, why is this a bad thing?  Every other tanking class in the game has to pick one tree to tank, why shouldn’t DKs?  Originally the developers wanted to try this new heroic class that could do any of the class roles from any talent tree, but I think they probably found this wasn’t the best situation.

I suggest picking a tree and making it the tanking tree.  This would actually be unfortunate for me, as my preferred dps tree is Frost, which would likely be the tanking tree.

The other option available is to make the crit reduction talent on the first tier of one of the trees.  I think that makes it too easy for any tree to get it for pvp though, which would be kind of a big deal.

One of the commenters suggested changing Stoneskin Gargoyle from +25 Defense & some Stamina to -6% Critical Strike chance.  I think, if they want to continue with any tree for any role, this is probably the best solution.  It severely limits what enchants a Death Knight can have on their weapon, but it does what folks want it to do.

Additionally, a note on Dual Wield Frost

A few people have been getting to my site by searching the terms, Reaper of Dark Souls for Dual Wield Frost.  To answer your question, yes…get those weapons if you don’t want to buy the Titansteel Bonecrusher.  As far as purchasable weapons, they are really good.  They are pretty well itemized and they aren’t too expensive.

If you can get your hands on the Titansteel Bonecrusher, it’s quite a bit better as a mainhand.  The Bonecrusher is Main Hand only, so you’ll need something for your offhand even if you get it.  The Reaper of Dark Souls is good for this at least.

When I first went DW Frost I went with dual wielding two Reapers.  After that I did Heroic Trial of the Champion until I managed to get my grubby hands on Aledar’s Battlestar.  I probably would have got a Bonecrusher, but my guild was using Titansteel to make epic gems.

Right now I’m main-handing the Battlestar and offhanding the Reaper.  I have in my possession Maexxna’s Femur and Hatestrike which, according to Rawr, are very slightly better than the Reaper, but I’m digging the Reaper’s hit.  I’ll probably keep the Reaper until I can get my hands on Razorscale Talon or another Battlestar.

Oh and btw, Dual Wield Frost is VERY fun.  Love it.

One Response to “Death Knight Tanking in Cataclysm”

  1. Good post. Personally I love that DKs have three trees for flavour. I expect Frost to end up the dual-wield tree though, with possibly more emphasis on DW in there.

    Also, you might (or not) find my post on threat stats for DK tank weapons and on DK DW tanking interesting too.

    http://pwnwear.com/2009/09/08/threat-stats-equivalence-points-for-death-knight-tanks/
    http://pwnwear.com/2009/09/22/3-22-death-knight-dual-wield-tanking/

Leave a Reply

