Death Knight Starting Area = Fun

Last night I logged onto WoW to find my normal server, Malygos, down.

“Poop”, I thought to myself.

So after a quick log onto Undermine to see if any of my old friends that quit the game but now are back but aren’t really playing were on, I switched over to Sisters of Elune.

Sisters of Elune is where I first began my WoW career as a Troll Shaman.  A few guys that I work with played there and one got me interested in the game.  Since I left that server to play alliance, the guild I was in has broken apart about 5 times with my co-workers spread out over 3 guilds I believe.

I didn’t really want to log onto any of my existing characters, because I play those characters with the wife, so I created a new Death Knight.  A Tauren named Mulg.  As an aside, I can’t believe the name Mulg wasn’t taken by a Tauren already.  Mulgore?  Really?

Anyway, I said all of that to say this.

The first time I went through the Death Knight starting area, I had no clue really.  I didn’t know how to play the class and I didn’t get a lot of jokes/references that abound in this area.    The only thing I REALLY took with me out of the starting area the first time around was Thassarian, one of the best npcs in the game, rocks and Arthas was there.

After having leveled through Northrend, and probably more importantly clearing Naxxramas, I saw all kinds of cool little references.

So my advice to everyone out there is, even if you’ve already done the DK starting area once, do it again.  It went faster because I had some clue of what I was doing and it made more sense because I had more lore knowledge.

Oh, and I’d kind of like to level a Horde just to see if Koltira Deathweaver is as awesome as Thassarian, but I highly doubt it.

4 Responses to “Death Knight Starting Area = Fun”

  1. I haven’t seen Thassarian outside of the starting zone yet, since my Alliance DK has just hit Northrend. So, I can’t compare the two yet … but I will admit to being a bit of a Koltira fangirl. I’m guessing, just from what I’ve seen around the net, that Thassarian has a much larger story/role/background/whatever … neither DK is likely to ever surpass Tirion Fordring in my eyes, however. 😉

    Oh, and I totally second your recommendation. I’ve done the DK zone now …. holy cow, at least a half dozen times! It gets better every time, and *especially* after having done Icecrown and cleared Naxx.

  2. Thassarian has his own questline in Borean Tundra that is a fairly epic quest and also rewards one of the best starting weapons for DKs/Arms Warriors/Ret Pallies in Northrend.

    He’s also the Alliance liaison with Ebon Blade in Icecrown. He’s kind of a big deal.

  3. Ok, so that’s the equivalent of the Breaking Through quest Hordeside. But you actually get to meet him up there and help him? Wow that’s pretty awesome. The cow-things in Taunka’le leave you on your own to go in there and take out the scourge.

    You don’t see Koltira until you get to Dragonblight, where he gives you quests from Agmar’s Hammer.

    My little Draenei just finished getting quests for UK in the Fjord, so I think she’s going to skip over to Boring next. I’m dying to see Valiance Keep from the inside.

  4. Yep, you learn all about Thassarian through that quest. I highly recommend at least stopping in Borean Tundra long enough to do that chain. The rewards are good and the storyline is even better.

    The beginning of the whole chain starts with Leryssa in Valiance Keep. One commenter on Wowhead suggests you have to complete the quest “Plug the Sinkholes” before you can talk to her, but I can’t vouch for that.

Leave a Reply

