A Departure from the Norm

This is a WOW blog.  I am the writer, I think I understand that.  People coming here to read this blog are, undoubtedly, interested in WOW.  That’s cool too.  However, there are just some things that need to be said, and this is my particular medium.  So,behind the break I’ll give you my Stargate: Universe rant.

I’m introduced to Stargate

I am a fan of the Stargate universe.  Note the lack of a colon and the lower-case u in universe.  My first experience with Stargate was with the movie.  It’s a good, solid movie and I think everyone should check it out.  It wasn’t my favorite movie by any means, but it was entertaining.

When the series Stargate: SG1 came out, it came out on HBO (I believe) and I didn’t get a chance to watch it, as I wasn’t a subscriber.  Stargate faded from memory not to return until I caught some advertisements on Sci-Fi about a new series called Stargate: Atlantis.  I watched the first episode and was entertained, but it was a Friday night series and at that time Friday was movie night for me and my girlfriend (wife now).

Fast forward about a year and a half.  My wife and I are living in an apartment and can’t really afford the Friday Night Movie thing anymore.  I’m cruising the ol’ Dish when I see Stargate: SG1.  I watch,  I see Richard Dean Anderson playing Colonal Jack O’Niell (two L’s) and I am hooked.  This series has everything I’m looking for.  It’s got action, adventure, comedy, aliens, explosions and even a little intrigue.  It’s great!

From SG1, I venture back into Atlantis.  Now that I know a bit more of the story, Atlantis lands a spot on the DVR.  Same thing, different galaxy.  (Pegasus, to be exact)

At this point, I’m DVRing both SG1 and Atlantis.  Every episode.  I watch every single episode.  I finally catch up to where Anderson leaves the series and, to be quite honest, I’m a little shook up.  Anderson made the series, but I keep going, because I’m still a fan.  It’s still got the action and comedy that I’ve come to know and love.

All good things…

SG1…canceled.  Ouch, probably my favorite show is no more.  That’s fine though, I still have Atlantis.

Atlantis…canceled.  Eek!  Now what?  Wait!  On the last episode of Atlantis they show a preview for an ALL NEW STARGATE ADVENTURE!  Stargate: Universe is coming out in the Fall of 2009!

Introducing, Universe!

I watched the first 2-hour episode of Universe.  “Eh,” I thought to myself.  It was kind of slow, but I figured they were trying to build characters.  It’ll pick up.  Turns out the second episode is really a continuation of the first.  Still building.  Still kind of slow.

Okay fine, but the third episode!  This is where it will start to get good, right?  Not so much.  I have yet to see a single alien!  Okay, I may have seen one alien…but I can’t be sure.  It was either an alien made of what appeared to be a tiny cyclone of … sparkles, or it was the dude’s subconscious.  Either way, no aliens jumped into anyone’s head or sucked their life essence to feed.

Now we are sitting at four episodes.  Still no aliens, but I’ll be honest…the last episode did pick up a little bit.  It had a little more pace to it, but it was still fairly slow.  Does it really take four episodes (five hours) to get going?

The Critiques

I get it SyFy (Stupid change of branding).  I see what you are doing.  You are not being particularly subtle.  Battlestar Galactica is gone.  While I’ve never seen it, I’ve heard it’s a very character driven drama.  That’s fine!  There is a place for shows like that.  Stargate is not one of those shows.

Don’t try to turn a show in the Stargate franchise into Battlestar Galactica!  Stargate is aliens and explosions and self-deprecating humor!  Not some introspective emo-fest on a spaceship!

Here’s another thing!  I went through SG1 and Atlantis without ever seeing a sex scene.  In the first four episodes of Universe I’ve seen three!  Seriously?  Is that where we have to go with our Sci-Fi?  Sex?  I have nothing against sex, but is that really what it’s going to take to sell this series?  If so, this series is in trouble.

There are going to be people who scream that Universe is a totally different show than SG1 and Atlantis.  I get that.  However, you’ve got a fairly substantial fanbase that is looking for some of those old warm and fuzzies they got from the old shows.  This show is NOTHING like those.  It’s a totally different type of show.  It’s Action-Adventure versus Character Drama.

I can’t imagine I’m the only person that’s turned off by this.  If this show continues down this path, it won’t make it into my television show rotation.

Give me a douchebag of an alien trying to wipe out the humans.  Give me a crew of good guys who make fun of themselves and the bad guys all at the same time.  Give me explosions, laughter, guns and puns.  And for the love of all that’s good, leave the unseen sexual tension just that…unseen!

2 Responses to “A Departure from the Norm”

  1. I loved SG-1, Atalantis was ok, never seen Universe. Not too sure I want to from what I am hearing. And not just from you either, I have talked to several people who are not too impressed.

  2. I know exactly what you mean buddy… I watched the first.. 2 episodes before giving up on it for now… I’m not going to dedicate my fridays for this rather boring show.

    SG1, Atlantis, and BSG were all awesome.. This just isn’t doing it for me.

Leave a Reply

