DPS Meme Thingy

So, I was tagged by That is Amazing (WoW)! to do this DPS Q&A thing.  I’m going to do it.  I’m not going to tag anyone else because…to be quite frank, all of the people in what I consider my “circle of blogs” have already done it or been tagged.

On with the show…

Started over at http://dkdeathgoddess.blogspot.com/

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?

Kered, Death Knight, Dual-Wield Frost

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Mostly 5-mans, but I get to throw him in on the occasional alt 10-man run from time to time.

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

Howling Blast…when Rime and Killing Machine both light up at the same time, I love hitting that Howling Blast button and seeing the free auto-crit…especially in an aoe situation.

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

I’m going to go with a talent that is in the tree I use, but I haven’t specced into.  Hungering Cold.  It’s primarily a pvp talent and I don’t currently pvp with Kered.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

I can put out some prime-time aoe when I want to.  The why is pretty self explanatory.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

Threat.  My current spec doesn’t have the threat reduction talent, so I pretty much always have to be aware of how much threat I’m putting out.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

Blowing stuff up.  If there is interrupting to be done, I can excel at that as well.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

There are other dps classes?  I wasn’t aware.  I suppose it would be anyone that buffs me nicely, so pallies & shaman are nice.

What tanking class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?

I don’t think the class really matters, it’s the players that suck.  I’ve had overgeared pallies not able to maintain threat while undergeared pallies did fine.  Same with every other tanking class.

What is your worst habit as a dps?

Probably tunnel vision.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?

Bad tanks.  Being a good tank, bad ones drive me crazy.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

If, by balanced you mean I am usually outdpsing everyone else that has similar gear levels, then yes…we are quite balanced.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a damage dealer?

Recount and boss death frequency.  If the boss dies, I’m doing fine.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

They are ezmode.  Yes, Death Knights are easy to play.  No, Death Knights are not easy to play at a high level.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?

I suppose gearing issues, but I dunno really.  It’s hard for someone who actually takes the time to research and learn about a class to understand those who don’t.

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

Warlocks, they are the only class I’ve never played.  Not even at level 1.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

Power Auras is probably the best addon for any class with procs.  Omen helps me not die.  Recount helps me judge my performance.  OmniCC gives me a nifty little counter on my buttons to let me know when my Cooldown is up, that’s helpful.  DeadlyBossMods is essential for anyone raiding, dps or not.

Strength over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?

Hit to 8% then STR, STR, STR and more STR.

 

7 Responses to “DPS Meme Thingy”

  1. Ooh, I didn’t know you had a DW frost knight too. Awesome! I’ve had a lot of fun on mine so far. He’s still gathering badges and gear as he just hit 80 a week ago or thereabouts, but I think we’re gonna do a Naxx alt run soon. 😀

  2. My DK has been 80 longer than my Warrior, but my Randul is my main raiding character, as I typically have to tank.

  3. Yeah, I have a feeling my DK is going to be asked to tank more often than he’s going to get to dps, since most of the people in the guild at his gear level are also dpsers.

  4. The one thing I’ve learned from having a DK and a Warrior both at 80 is to not level another tank-capable character. I will never level a Druid or a Paladin, because I have the personality that provides whatever is needed. If I leveled either of those characters I am sure they would be dual-specced tank/heals.

    Not that I dislike tanking. I love tanking on my warrior. I would like a break from time to time, however, and I don’t get that because my DK is tank/dps. If I group, it’s nearly always as a tank.

  5. Yeh, at least my main is a mage, so all he can do is dps. My works in progress are all capable of healing/tanking though, with a priest and paladin being the two most likely of making it to 80.

  6. RtD, I have yet to hit any DK to 80, but I have leveled several of them up to 75 or lower. Not sure why, I just deleted a 75 DK to start over, on a server I rarely play on. I do have a lot of fun with them though.

    As a side note, while reading the comments, I have been tanking with my bear and it is friggin amazingly fun.

    That is all. Go easy fellas.

  7. Ya know RtD (new alias to call you by), you never tagged anyone for the meme..Pass the buck, bro. That’s what the Meme is all about.

Leave a Reply

