Shammy Time!

I have to admit, I am having a LOT of fun on my Shaman.  So far I’ve only healed Heroics and a pair of easy raids, but it’s been different and fun.  The key word here is DIFFERENT!  I love my Warrior, but I ALWAYS tank on him.  I love my DK, but eventually I want to do something other than melee.  Apparently whack-a-mole suits me.

To this point, raid healing has been slightly frustrating and extremely easy.  Much easier than healing a Heroic in fact.  Frustrating because I’ll be winding up a heal on someone and they’ll get healed by someone else before my heal lands.  I don’t feel like I’m accomplishing much.  Granted, we haven’t done true healing assignments in the raids I’ve been in, so that is probably part of it.

Hopefully when I’m actually doing something relevant I’ll be given an assignment and be a little more useful.  To this point I’ve been mopping up raid heals as the third healer on a VoA10 (starting with Koralon) and a Naxx10 (Loetheb, Sapph & Kel).  I do feel like I did a little more on Sapphiron, but I didn’t help much on Kel until our second healer died in a …. red thingy that you are supposed to not stand in.

My gear is shooting up in quality.  Overnight (literally) I went from “Go do Naxx & OS10” to “Go do EoE10, Naxx25 & OS25.”  Yes, that’s low-level content, but I’m working my way up.  Tonight I’ll have enough emblems to buy a Triumph ring, so I’m pretty excited about that.

I do have some things I need to work on and tweak.  I’ve got my UI looking pretty slick, but I really need to work on Grid a bit to meet my standards.  It’s pretty much out of the box at this point.  That’s not good.  I’ll be posting a screenshot on Monday of my current UI.

I also need to work on my utility stuff.  I let my totems drop and didn’t put them back up on Loetheb.  I also forgot to Heroism.  Bad Shaman is bad.  Of course, my raid leader should be calling for it, but I’m also a raid leader so that’s no excuse.

Here’s the man in his current incarnation.  Yeah, I need to stick a few gems in there and I REALLY need to work on his professions, but I’m too busy right now having so much fun!  I think after I get that ring trinkets are next on my to-do list.

Till next time, enjoy the weekend and happy Easter!

3 Responses to “Shammy Time!”

  1. I know nothing about grid because I’m all Healbot, but I’m guessing there should be a feature that allows you to see incoming heals on your grid. Healbot allows for that which prevents overhealing. This can be catastrophic if you are on a fight where every heal counts and your busy healing someone that someone else got to before you.

  2. I have that as well, I just didn’t show that in the picture.

  3. Wow, I thought you commented my other post. I’ve solved the overhealing problem with Grid, as you can see in my Shammy UI + Keybinds post.

Leave a Reply

