All Aboard the Failboat

Captain:  Randul the Dwarf (actually it’d be Daenaran, but that’s just being picky)

I’m not perfect.  I do  stupid things from time to time.  I hear “failboat toot toot” in raids and vent pretty often.  More often than not it’s just me being absent minded or a minor oversight, but last night I joined the ranks of EPIC fail.

I was healing a random heroic (Utgarde Pinnacle) and for some reason a thought from a forum thread I read this past week fluttered through my mind.  The person was talking about an addon called Rankwatch to see which newbs were not using max ranks of their spells.  After reading that, I went home, went to the trainer and made sure that all of my spells were trained.  That’s my due diligence, right?

Apparently due diligence isn’t enough sometimes.  Sometimes the game just hates you and wants you to look like a total moron.  You see, there’s a bug out there with dual spec that even though you train the highest level of your spells and the game is SUPPOSED to put those max ranks on your action bars, things don’t always work out that way.

I’ve been level 80 and running heroics on Daenaran for a few weeks now.  I’ve been healing them for the most part, but doing a little bit of Elemental DPS from time to time.  I’ve run enough heroics to have four pieces of T9 gear and the iLevel 245 ring.  That’s a few emblems.

The entire time I’ve been doing this, I’ve been at about half power.  I can’t remember the exact ranks, but Healing Wave, Lesser Healing Wave, Chain Heal, Lightning Bolt, Flame Shock, Earth Shock and Chain Lightning were ALL at about half their possible ranks.

……………………………………..________
………………………………,.-‘”……………….“~.,
………………………..,.-”……………………………..“-.,
…………………….,/………………………………………..”:,
…………………,?………………………………………………\,
………………./…………………………………………………..,}
……………../………………………………………………,:`^`..}
……………/……………………………………………,:”………/
…………..?…..__…………………………………..:`………../
…………./__.(…..“~-,_…………………………,:`………./
………../(_….”~,_……..“~,_………………..,:`…….._/
……….{.._$;_……”=,_…….“-,_…….,.-~-,},.~”;/….}
………..((…..*~_…….”=-._……“;,,./`…./”…………../
…,,,___.\`~,……“~.,………………..`…..}…………../
…………(….`=-,,…….`……………………(……;_,,-”
…………/.`~,……`-………………………….\……/\
………….\`~.*-,……………………………….|,./…..\,__
,,_……….}.>-._\……………………………..|…………..`=~-,
…..`=~-,_\_……`\,……………………………\
……………….`=~-,,.\,………………………….\
…………………………..`:,,………………………`\…………..__
……………………………….`=-,……………….,%`>–==“
…………………………………._\……….._,-%…….`\
……………………………..,< `.._|_,-&“…………….`\

I respecced out of Elemental dps because I thought I was terrible at it.  If you think not having max ranks of your primary spells makes you terrible, then you probably agree.  I would agree that I am a terrible player at this point, but I don’t know that I am a terrible Elemental Shaman.

The really sad thing about all this?  I was succeeding.  I didn’t typically have wipes on my runs and I was healing at about half my potential.  Last night when I finally made the change, I was practically giggling every time a heal would go off.  Going from 1k Lesser Healing Waves to 7k LHWs is a pretty big deal.

I’m just glad I noticed this before going into a raid where I was actually expected to carry my own weight.

The lesson here, ladies and gentlemen, is to log on tonight and look at your spells.  Not just at the trainer, but on your actionbars.  MAKE SURE you are using the max rank of those spells, because you don’t want to be like me.

Oh, and for anyone that’s curious how things are going with the Shaman, I’ve got him to about 4300 gearscore.  2 piece t9 Resto & 2 piece t9 Elemental.  Last night I managed to snag the neckpiece off of the last boss in Heroic Forge of Souls, so I’m coming along nicely.

5 Responses to “All Aboard the Failboat”

  1. I so feel for you…

    This happened to me on my pally when she was holy after a dual spec change. I was asked to heal TOC25 (my first time) and reluctantly agreed and I was awful but I knew I was awful..

    Why??

    Because someone had that add on and it /w me saying that I was not using top spells. I /w back saying your add on is mucked up mate I’ve trained everything to which he wrote back ‘You fail….check your action bars out’ and then proceeded to tell everyone in raid and I got kicked for being a noob.

    Yes, always always check your action bar out unless you’re me and then have the same issue on your mage and get caught out again. *cry*

    It will not happen a 3rd time I can assue you of that!

    Grz on the gear levelling as well 😉

  2. LOL i saw the post and had to laugh. I guess people are always asking for ways to bring some of the “challenge” back to wow. I would have ran with the excuse that I was trying to to make things more challenging. I applaud you for your honesty lol…now off to check my damn bars on my mains and various alts.

  3. диеты ” худеем за 5 дней”массаж помогает похудетьволокова о рыбной диетелегкий способ эффективно похудетьпохудеть на 50 килограммсоветы диетологов как правильно питатьсяможно ли пользоваться антицеллюлитными средствами во время беременностипохудеть лицомдиета не есть после 3 чаовкакие упражнения делать женщинам чтоб похудели рукихристианский пост диетадиета быстро и простосамое эффективное средство для быстрого похуденияправильное питание мужчиныгимнастические упражнения для похудениярицепт кремлевской диетыдиета для здоровой чистой кожикакая рыба подходит для диетысоветы для похудения за неделюдиеты для похудения возраст 54 года

  4. IrishkaBelova Says:

    Искала в интернете как быстро похудеть. Наткнулась на сайт, предложили пройти тест. Я ответила на все вопросы, потом дали скачать индивидуальный курс диет. Я его прочитала и вот результат:
    За месяц без труда сбросила 10кг, как и хотела. Теперь поддерживаю свой вес как написано в курсе. Все оказалось очень просто.
    А нашла я эту радость вот здесь http://personal-diet.tk Просто хочу поделиться, ведь много кто хочет похудеть))

Leave a Reply

